Rice University

Conflict of Interest

Faculty Conflicts Committee

About the FCC

Policy 216 provides that the Faculty Conflicts Committee (FCC) will be responsible for: (a) affirming or disputing identifications of COIs; and (b) recommending whether COIs can be managed or must be eliminated.


  • Yousif Shamoo, Vice Provost for Research
  • Zachary Ball (Chemistry)
  • Patrick Hartigan (Physics and Astronomy)
  • Matthias Heinkenschloss (Computational and Applied Mathematics)
  • Yael Hochberg (Jones Graduate School of Business)
  • Rafael Verduzco (Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering)
  • Christopher Fagundes (Psychological Sciences)
  • Timothy Schroeder (Philosophy)